Harkive: the 6 ways I heard music today

For the past couple of years I have contributed to the annual Harkive research day, sharing my listening habits during the course of one day. Last year I was even lucky enough to win a delightful bundle of music on Static Caravan Records for my efforts.

There are a number of different ways that I listen to music at the moment. I didn’t employ them all today, but I did use almost as many ways of documenting my listening as I did actually doing the listening itself.

I now realise I was a little too objective in describing my listening habits today. So I will add a bit of context now.

I’m not sure if the first one really counts. I do often wake with a song in my head, and today’s was one of my favourite songs from the new Wilful Missing album.

Listening on my way to work helps me get an early fix of music and I also find it helps to focus my mind.

I use SoundCloud like a musical Twitter at the moment. I follow various record labels and artists to find out what new music is on the horizon. That’s how I come across gems like this one:

I will come across various tunes on social media, and the Bluetooth speaker that I bought last year has really helped the experience of listening to these.

Listening to music on the YouTube app on my iPad through a Bluetooth speaker. #Harkive

A post shared by Albert Freeman (@albfreeman) on

This was the first time I had listened to this Vessel LP. I ordered it from Jumbo Records after being totally blown away by Vessel’s gig in Shipley a couple of months ago.

I’m in the middle of a free trial of Apple Music. I’m mostly using it as a virtual listening post, previewing stuff that I might then by on vinyl.

Published by

albfreeman

I am a digital communications and marketing officer for Bradford Council and a musician.

Leave a Reply

