Fox Glacier – I didn’t realise how lucky I was

Exactly three years ago, on 18 February 2012, I walked on Fox Glacier. It was one of the most amazing days of my life, and I felt lucky to have had that experience.

I didn’t realise quite how lucky I was though. I wouldn’t be able to walk on Fox Glacier today. Tourist walks have been suspended because the glacier has retreated so far.

As you can probably imagine, I took quite a lot of photos on that memorable day with my mum and H. Here are a few of them:

On Fox Glacier

Jill and Bia in ice tunnel on Fox Gacier

Loose rocks on top of Fox Glacier

Large hole on Fox Glacier

Metamorphic rock at bottom of Fox Glacier

Jill descending Fox Glacier

You can see the rest of my Fox Glacier photos on Flickr.

Published by

albfreeman

I am a digital communications and marketing officer for Bradford Council and a musician.

One thought on “Fox Glacier – I didn’t realise how lucky I was”

Leave a Reply

